Sonacove Meets vs Vedamo for Online Teaching (2026)

By IbrahimUpdated

Vedamo beats Sonacove Meets on several rows a teacher cares about, and this page opens with that rather than burying it. It carries a 50 participant ceiling against our 20, real LTI integration into Moodle, Canvas and Schoology where we have none at all, and it puts breakout rooms, polls, a waiting room, participant moderation and interactive recorded playback into a base plan at $25 a month (Vedamo pricing). The catch is not in any of those rows, and most reviews miss it: Vedamo is sold per classroom, not per teacher.

Sonacove Meets vs Vedamo: which is better for online teaching?

Vedamo is the better choice if you teach classes larger than 20, or if your institution runs on Moodle, Canvas or Schoology and you want the classroom to appear inside the course rather than as a pasted link. Sonacove Meets is the better choice if several teachers teach at the same time, because our price scales by teacher and Vedamo’s scales by concurrent classroom. Under 20 students with no LMS in the picture, the deciding number is how many lessons run at the same hour.

Feature by feature, Vedamo has the deeper synchronous kit of the two. Interactive recorded playback, synchronised browsing so every participant sees the same region of the board, private instructor notes taken mid-session and a task timer are all things we do not have (Vedamo virtual classroom). Its whiteboard also exports to PDF or HTML and its session templates are reusable across sessions, where ours is not saved at all.

Where we hold up is the price per teaching person and the fact that every feature is on both of our plans. The first of those is doing far more work than it sounds like, which is what the next section is about.

Why is Vedamo priced per classroom rather than per teacher?

Because the unit Vedamo sells is a room, not a person. Its pricing page states that you may run one virtual classroom at a time from your account, so two lessons happening simultaneously require two plans (Vedamo pricing). Sonacove sells seats, so two teachers on two seats have their own rooms and can teach at the same hour without buying anything extra.

For a solo tutor this distinction never appears and Vedamo looks like a flat $25 or €20 a month. For anyone with colleagues it reframes the entire price comparison, because your bill is set by your busiest hour rather than by your headcount. A tutoring agency with fifteen tutors and a timetable that peaks at four concurrent lessons is a very different customer from a school where every class starts at 09:00.

Ask this before you buy: the Vedamo pricing page limits concurrency, not people. It does not say whether several teachers can share one account and stagger their timetables, or whether each teacher needs their own login. Get that in writing, because the answer can change your bill by a factor of three.

The same page also declines to publish three numbers you would need to model the cost properly: the price of an additional virtual classroom, the price of LMS accounts above the 25 account minimum, and whether any annual discount exists. We are not going to estimate any of them, and neither should the comparison site that tells you Vedamo costs $25.

What does each one cost for a team of teachers?

Sonacove Meets is €8.99 per user per month on the Individual plan and €15.99 per user per month on the Organization plan, with no free tier. Vedamo’s Virtual Classroom plan is $25 a month or €20 a month per classroom, and its Learning Management System plan is $43 a month or €35 a month per licence with a minimum of 25 user accounts (Vedamo pricing). Both vendors publish euro figures, so this comparison is cleaner than most.

Work through three shapes of business and the pattern is obvious. One tutor teaching alone pays €8.99 to us and €20 to Vedamo, and gets 50 participant places and LTI for the difference. That is a reasonable trade if either of those things is worth €11 a month to you, and no trade at all if you teach four students at a time.

A small academy with ten teachers whose timetables overlap heavily is the opposite case. Ten Vedamo classrooms cost €200 a month, ten Sonacove Organization seats cost €159.90, and the gap widens with every teacher you add. This is the shape most people picture when they think of a school, and it is the one Vedamo’s pricing model treats least kindly.

Now the case that flips it back. A tutoring agency with twelve part-time tutors that never runs more than four lessons at once needs four Vedamo classrooms at €80 a month, against twelve Sonacove seats at €191.88. If Vedamo permits an account to be shared across staggered teachers, that agency should buy Vedamo and not think twice about it, which is exactly why the question in the callout above matters more than any feature row on this page.

Four numbers to price before you commit:

  • The maximum number of lessons that run at the same hour on your busiest day
  • What Vedamo charges for an additional virtual classroom, which is not published
  • What an LMS account costs above the 25 account minimum, which is also not published
  • Whether the 5 GB of storage per classroom covers the recordings you intend to keep

How do Sonacove Meets and Vedamo compare feature by feature?

Vedamo carries a higher participant ceiling, genuine LMS integration and a richer recording and whiteboard story, while Sonacove carries a lower price per teacher and no limit on how many classes run at once. Rows below come from vendor pages, linked underneath, and anything Vedamo does not publish says so rather than being filled in.

Sonacove Meets Vedamo
Guest account required to join No Participants join by a unique classroom link or an email invitation. Whether an account is required is not stated on the pages we fetched
Guest install required No, browser only No, browser based with mobile access
Free tier None A 30 day trial. The free virtual classroom allows one participant at a time
Participants per session Up to 20 guests Up to 50
Pricing unit Per user, per month Per virtual classroom, per month
Classroom price Individual €8.99 / user / month, Organization €15.99 / user / month $25 / month or €20 / month per classroom
Concurrent classes Each teacher has their own seat and their own rooms One virtual classroom at a time. A second simultaneous class needs a second plan
LMS platform price Not offered $43 / month or €35 / month per licence, minimum 25 user accounts
Cloud storage Not published 5 GB per virtual classroom, minimum 6 GB on the LMS plan
Whiteboard Yes, Excalidraw based. The board lives for the meeting only Yes, multiple boards as sub-pages, reusable session templates, export to PDF or HTML
Breakout rooms Yes, on both plans Yes, in the base plan
Polls Yes, and votes are attributed to the voter Yes, in the base plan
Waiting room and per-participant moderation Yes, including granting moderator rights Yes, with controls over what participants can see, do and edit
Recording Yes Yes, with interactive playback of the session rather than a flat video
Chat with private messages Yes, with moderator pinning Yes, group and personal messaging
Recurring class scheduling Yes, by day of week with an explicit timezone, capped at one year Not published
LTI integration No Yes, LTI 1.x into Moodle, Canvas and Schoology. Also stated: Google for Education, Brightspace by D2L, itslearning and Edunation
REST API or iframe embedding No Not published. LTI is the only integration path we could verify
Lesson content library None. You bring the material A file library for your own resources. No ready made subject content
Phone dial-in No Not published

As of September 2026. Vedamo rows come from the pricing page, the virtual classroom page, the online whiteboard page, the free start tutorial, the Moodle integration tutorial and the Canvas integration tutorial. Vendor limits change, so check any row you are about to rely on.

One row is worth reading twice. Both products have polls, and ours attribute the vote: voter avatars appear under each option during the meeting and the post-meeting record lists who chose what. That is a design decision with consequences either way, and our guide to using polls in online teaching is honest about which questions students answer differently once they know their name is attached.

How do students join, and does Vedamo need an account?

Sonacove guests open the room link in a browser, type a display name and join, with no account and no download. Vedamo participants join through a unique classroom link or an email invitation, and no install is required on their side (Vedamo virtual classroom). We could not find a Vedamo page that states in so many words that a participant needs no account, so treat that as implied by the link based join rather than published.

That gap in the documentation is worth a five minute test rather than an assumption. Open the trial, send yourself an invitation from a browser with no session, and see what the other side is asked for. Join friction is invisible to the host by definition, since you are already signed in, and it is the single most common reason a lesson starts eight minutes late.

Where the two differ properly is what the link belongs to. In Sonacove the room name is the URL, so a room called after the class outlives the term and nobody resends anything, which is the point of the room naming rule in setting up a virtual classroom. In Vedamo, if you are using the LTI integration, the classroom appears inside a Moodle or Canvas course as an assignment, so the student never handles a link at all. For an institution, that is the better answer by a distance.

What can you actually test in each free trial?

Vedamo offers a 30 day free trial attached automatically at registration, and Sonacove has no free tier at all. The trial has one restriction that undercuts it badly for anyone evaluating group teaching: the free virtual classroom allows only one participant at a time (Vedamo free start tutorial). You can evaluate the room, but you cannot evaluate breakout rooms, polls with a real group, or the 50 participant ceiling that is the main reason to buy it.

The free LMS is more usable for its purpose, allowing 10 accounts, up to 5 courses and up to 10 lessons per course. Custom subdomain branding sits outside the free plan. Whether a payment card is required to start the trial is not stated on the pages we fetched.

Our position here is weaker in one respect and simpler in another. We have nothing free, so a tutor who wants to try before paying is better served by Vedamo’s trial or by the free tier described in the LearnCube comparison. What we do offer is a plan with no feature gates, so the thing you test on day one is the thing you keep.

Where is Vedamo the better choice?

Vedamo wins on class size, on institutional integration, on recording and on the depth of its live teaching tools. If you recognise your situation below, buy Vedamo, and we would rather you did than be disappointed by ours.

Your classes are larger than 20. Vedamo supports up to 50 participants in a session on both paid plans. Our ceiling is 20 guests and it is hard. A class of 28, a revision session, a parents evening or a training cohort is outside what we do.

Your school runs on Moodle, Canvas or Schoology. Vedamo documents LTI 1.x setup with a Consumer Key, Shared Secret and Launch URL, and the classroom can be added as an assignment rather than a link in a course description. That is what an institution actually needs, and asking teachers to leave the course page is a real cost that gets underestimated in every procurement meeting. We have no LMS integration of any kind, and the same gap shows up in our Zoom comparison.

You review recordings rather than archive them. Vedamo’s interactive playback replays a session as something you can move through rather than a flat video file, which is the difference between a recording used for teacher training and one nobody opens.

Your whiteboard work is prepared in advance. Session templates of pre-arranged material can be saved and reused across sessions, and boards export to PDF or HTML. Our board does not persist between sessions at all, which is precisely why our advice on an online whiteboard for teaching tells you to export before you leave the room.

You want a full LMS for €35 a month. Unlimited courses, unlimited lessons per course and unlimited quizzes on the LMS plan is a serious amount of platform at that price, and it covers ground we do not touch.

Which one should you choose?

Choose Vedamo if your classes run past 20 people, if the classroom needs to live inside Moodle or Canvas, or if you are one tutor who wants the deepest live teaching toolkit for €20 a month. Choose Sonacove Meets if you run several lessons at the same time, want the lower per teacher price, and can teach within a 20 guest ceiling.

Answer the concurrency question first, in writing, before you compare anything else. It is the number that decides the bill, it is not on the pricing page, and a small school working out its real requirements will find the framing in our guide to a virtual classroom for small schools useful alongside it.